Jefferson County Finance Committee Minutes September 15, 2021

Committee members: Jones, Richard (Chair) Kutz, Russell (Secretary)

Rinard, Amy Nelan, Conor

Jaeckel, George (Vice Chair)

1. Call to order – Finance Committee Chair Richard Jones called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

- 2. Roll call (establish a quorum) Finance Committee members present were Richard Jones, George Jaeckel, Russell Kutz, Conor Nelan and Amy Rinard. Other board members present were Anita Martin, Walt Christensen, and David Drayna. Staff in attendance were County Administrator, Ben Wehmeier; Finance Director, Marc DeVries; and Assistant Finance Director, Tammy Worzalla; and Financial Systems Specialist, Cindy Diestelmann. There were no members of the public present.
- **3. Certification of compliance with the Open Meetings Law** County Administrator Wehmeier certified compliance with the Open Meetings Law.
- **4. Approval of the agenda** –The agenda was approved.
- **5. Communications** none.
- **6. Public comment** none.
- 7. Department 2022 Budget Hearings The Finance Committee considered the recommended budgets for each department listed below and motions were made to tentatively accept the recommended budget figures for each department, unless otherwise noted. [The format for each department lists (i) budget presenters in addition to Ben Wehmeier, (ii) any other information specific to the department budget, (iii) who moved/seconded to tentatively accept the recommended budget figure, unless otherwise noted, along with the amount, and (iv) the voting record]
 - a. County Clerk
 - i. Audrey McGraw
 - ii. No additional motion/information
 - iii. Motion by Jones/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$256,369)
 - iv. Motion passed 5-0.

b. Management Information Systems

- i. John Rageth
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Jones/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$15,313)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

c. Planning and Zoning/Land Information

- i. Matt Zangl /Tracy Saxby
- ii. No additional motion/information

- iii. Motion by Nelan/Jaeckel and Nelan/Kutz to approve the recommended budgets (estimated levy amounts \$320,363 Planning/\$407,920 LIO)
- iv. Motions passed 5-0/5-0.

d. Human Resources

- i. Terri Palm
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Rinard/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$555,505)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

e. District Attorney

- i. Monica Hall/Leigh Schrer
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Jaeckel/Kutz to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$787,945)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

f. Emergency Management

- i. Donna Haugom
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Kutz/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$100,118)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

g. Health Department

- i. Gail Scott, Elizabeth Chilsen and Sandee Schunk
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Kutz/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$892,942)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

h. Parks

- i. Kevin Weismann and Mary Truman
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Jaeckel/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$793,039)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

i. Highway Department

- i. Bill Kern and Ryan Broedlow
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Rinard/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$5,818,511)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

j. Medical Examiner

- i. Nichol Tesch
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Nelan/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$250,727)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

k. Administration

- i. Ben Wehmeier
- ii. No additional motion/information

- iii. Motion by Jones/Kutz to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$575,897)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0
- **8. Set future meeting schedule, next meeting date, and possible agenda items** The next Finance Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, September 16th at 8:30 a.m.
- **9. Adjourn** A motion was made at 11:45 to recess until Thursday, September 16th by Jaeckel/Rinard. The motion passed 5-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Russell Kutz, Secretary Finance Committee Jefferson County /mad