Jefferson County Finance Committee Minutes September 16, 2021

Committee members: Jones, Richard (Chair) Kutz, Russell (Secretary)

Rinard, Amy Nelan, Conor

Jaeckel, George (Vice Chair)

1. Call to order – Finance Committee Chair Richard Jones called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

- 2. Roll call (establish a quorum) Finance Committee members present were Richard Jones, George Jaeckel, Russell Kutz, Conor Nelan and Amy Rinard. Other board members present were Walt Christensen, Anita Martin, and David Drayna. Staff in attendance were County Administrator, Ben Wehmeier; Finance Director, Marc DeVries; and Assistant Finance Director, Tammy Worzalla and Financial Systems Specialist, Cindy Diestelmann. There were no members of the public present.
- **3. Certification of compliance with the Open Meetings Law** County Administrator Wehmeier certified compliance with the Open Meetings Law.
- **4. Approval of the agenda** –The agenda was approved.
- **5. Communications** none.
- **6.** Public comment none.
- 7. Department 2021 Budget Hearings The Finance Committee considered the recommended budgets for each department listed below and motions were made to tentatively accept the recommended budget figures for each department, unless otherwise noted. [The format for each department lists (i) budget presenters in addition to Ben Wehmeier, (ii) any other information specific to the department budget, (iii) who moved/seconded to tentatively accept the recommended budget figure, unless otherwise noted, along with the amount, and (iv) the voting record]
 - a. Library Service
 - i. Karol Kennedy and Eric Robinson
 - ii. No additional motion/information
 - iii. Motion by Jones/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$1,158,411)
 - iv. Motion passed 5-0.

b. Central Services

- i. Larry Meyer
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Nelan/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$1,000,483)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

c. Land and Water Conservation

- i. Joshua Butteris/Kim Liakopoulos
- ii. No additional motion/information

- iii. Motion by Jaeckel/Jones to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$262,257)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

d. Clerk of Courts

- i. Cindy Hamre-Incha
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Kutz/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$1,503,042)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

e. County Board

- i. Ben Wehmeier
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Jaeckel/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$516,744)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

f. Treasurer

- i. John Jensen
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Kutz/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy savings \$480,207)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

g. Corporation Counsel

- i. Blair Ward
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Jaeckel/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$447,736)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

h. Human Services

- i. Kathi Cauley, Brian Belford and Brent Ruehlow
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Rinard/Nelan to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$8,916,065)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

i. Sheriff

- Paul Milbrath and Jeff Parker
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Nelan/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$14,199,183)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

j. Fair Park

- i. Amy Listle
- ii. No additional motion/information
- iii. Motion by Jones/Rinard to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy amount \$19,811)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.

k. Register of Deeds

- i. Staci Hoffman
- ii. No additional motion/information

- iii. Motion by Jones/Jaeckel to approve the recommended budget (estimated levy savings \$153,844)
- iv. Motion passed 5-0.
- **8. Set future meeting schedule, next meeting date, and possible agenda items** The next Finance Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, September 17th at 8:30 a.m.
- **9. Adjourn** A motion was made at 11:45 to recess until Thursday, September 24th by Jones/Rinard. The motion passed 5-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Russell Kutz, Secretary Finance Committee Jefferson County /mad