JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD COMMITTEE MINUTES

May 16, 2023

Broadband Working Group

1. Call to Order

Meeting was called to order by Fitzgerald at 10:30 a.m.

2. Roll Call

Broadband Working Group Members present: Curtis Backlund, Joan Fitzgerald, Matthew Foelker, Jeff Johns, Richard Jones, Robert Preuss, Amy Rinard

Others Present: Ben Wehmeier, County Administrator, Supervisor Anita Martin; Brian Udovich, Highway Department; Ken Baehler, Bug Tussell

Others Present via ZOOM: Jason Hafenstein, Gene Dalhoff, MadRep; John Donohue

3. Certification of compliance with Open Meeting Law Requirements

Wehmeier certified compliance with the Open Meetings Law

4. Communications

Wehmeier will be attending "Internet for All Listening Tour" a Regional Event at Madison College. An invite with registration information will be sent out.

5. Public Comment

None

6. Approval of the April 24, 2023 Broadband Working Group minutes

Draft minutes were provided for review.

Motion by Backlund/Foelker to approve the April 24, 2023 Broadband Working Group minutes as printed. Motion passed 7-0.

7. Approval of the agenda

No changes were made.

8. Discuss vision, goals, priorities and planning

Wehmeier gave a presentation which included the history and timeline of Broadband Work from December of 2018, sections of the Strategic Plan and Comp Plan, Vision and Goals, Observations, Eligible Projects and Activities. The presentation will be shared with the Working Group for further review and will be discussed at the next meeting. No action taken.

9. Discussion and possible action related to planning activities under the Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Planning Grants

The members discussed their plans for collecting data. No action taken.

10. Update on Broadband Projects

There was a change in the Bug Tussell grant so the project will be adjusted, in communication with Edge, TDS is working on a project in our area. No action taken.

11. Discussion of next steps

The next Broadband Working Group meeting is scheduled for June 6^{th} at 10:30 a.m. at the Highway Department.

12. Adjourn

Motion by Backlund/Johns to adjourn at 11:57 a.m. Motion passed 7-0.